Vintage Tea Party – Part 1

I’m so excited to share our Vintage Tea Party with you! Call me a stick-in-the-mud, but I like a truly traditional tea party – and not a tea party mixed with any other activities you might find at a spa party or fairy party or princess party. Just a good, old-fashioned tea party. So that’s what we had.

Today, we’ll focus on the decorations and food, and tomorrow I’ll bring you the party activities.

I drew inspiration from this delicate pink and yellow teacup. I am in love with this pattern and I pulled the party colors from it.

These fans from Shop Sweet Lulu continued the pink and yellow theme.

The other accents were doilies – lots and lots of doilies. On our door …

In the girls’ “We Are Six” banner (that I made) …

As our placemats …

As our place cards …

And decorating our piñata goodie bags …

I used my china cabinet to display our food and desserts. Since the cabinet has a mirrored back, I covered the mirror in a pink and yellow rose-patterned chintz. (See my tutorial here.)

For serving pieces, I used white, glass, silver and added pops of pink. The mini stands holding the lemon curd and Devonshire cream I made using this tutorial from The Party Dress magazine. I also got lucky and found a pink hobnail vase for $4 the day before the party.

When it came to the sweets, I tried to incorporate the party colors. Treats included strawberries, blueberry white chocolate scones, cranberry orange scones, berry cupcakes, cotton candy cookies, meringue cookies, candy sticks, madeleines, and dark chocolate-dipped coconut macaroons. (I may have helped myself to a few of the macaroons.) The birthday cake was a white chocolate and raspberry 3-D teapot cake — so pretty!

Our tea sandwiches included tomato basil, egg salad, cucumber cream cheese, chocolate-dipped PB&J, and chicken salad.

Instead of tea, which most of the girls felt unsure of, I served pink lemonade.

On the table, I used china from my collection of antique store finds. At each place were gloves and a “cracker” that held necklaces.

Each girl also had a favor in a tea tin. The favors were hand-made felt cookies – so cute!

But I think my favorite part of the tablescape is the centerpiece. On one of my silver trays, I stacked several colorful old books and topped those with two teapots with arrangements of pink, yellow and cream silk flowers.

Hope you like it! Please let me know – and please come back tomorrow to see the party activities.

Vendor Credits:

Photography: Viridian Images Photography

Invitation: Vintage Paper Parade

Cake: Confection Perfection 

Tea pot florals: Linden 

Felt cookies: Scrumdiddlyumptious Bakery

Pink and yellow paper fans, pink tissue garland, polka dot cupcake liners: Sweet Shop Lulu

Doily wreath: Pretty & Ugly

Comments

  1. Just gorgeous! It looks like eveyone had a great time!

Leave a Reply

